The BOARDWORLD Forums ran from 2009 to 2021 and are now closed and viewable here as an archive

side & base edge angles

Sweet, that narrows it down from “it appears to me that the appropriate question is yet to be asked/answered”, to simply “it appears to me that the appropriate question is yet to be answered”.

If I had a buck for every time a so-called ‘expert’ was anything but. . .

Gamblor - 06 October 2011 06:28 AM

your analogy is weird.

That weird that ya couldn’t answer my question truthfully????

Yeah ya right, no point in continuing this discussion!!!!!

Anyone use the hand held files and know anything about them?

All this talk of bevel angle etc has got me wondering what my file is tuning my board to. I usually sharpen the edges fairly regularly.

I have an option of 88 or 90 degrees. I’ve been using 90 but have no idea if it’s a 0 or 1 degree bevel…

Dan83 - 06 October 2011 07:56 AM

Anyone use the hand held files and know anything about them?

All this talk of bevel angle etc has got me wondering what my file is tuning my board to. I usually sharpen the edges fairly regularly.

I have an option of 88 or 90 degrees. I’ve been using 90 but have no idea if it’s a 0 or 1 degree bevel…

Can only tell you what I’ve read.  It’s pretty much a case of using a diamond stone to remove work-hardened rough sections (where you hit rocks etc) in your edges and giving it a basic sharpen.  You would normally not use the file unless the edges needed a major re-sharpen or if you wanted to alter your bevel.  Be careful using the file as it is designed to remove more steel than the stone, as once that steel’s gone it’s gone for good!  If you are going to file, hit up the edges with the diamond stone first to remove the work-hardened bits as the file is not designed to cut those.

Not sure how your angle tool works.  Do you think it’s setting its angle off the base or off the edge?  If off the base, I guess you’re setting the base bevel to either 0 or 2 degrees.