The BOARDWORLD Forums ran from 2009 to 2021 and are now closed and viewable here as an archive

Hey guys,

I’m new to snowboarding but am addicted to it already therefore looking to buy myself a board.
I have no idea where to start, brands, size etc but looking to get something I can grow into.

I’m 175cm and 80kg. I have a size 9 foot as well.

If you guys could give me some ideas since alot of you guys have a whole lot more knowledge then I do.

Thanks in advance.

Daniel

If you have a lot of time read this thread
but in general the type of board you want to buy really is something very personal:
first of all: what do u want to do with it? Park, powder, normal downhill,...
second; do u want a big board with a lot of stability but harder to turn, or smaller more flexible and easier to handle but less stability?
But seeing your size and weight I would go for a bigger board but I’m definitively not the best person to help u with this, there are better persons here who can help you :D

(my specs: I’m 180cm and 64kg, I have a Ride Machete 158cm, a very good all-round board, I love it, it’s on my wall like a shrine(if you want pics let me know :D), I have boot size 11.5 and Burton Missions for bindings)

mate go over the other 6 or so threads that asked the exact same thing.

its all been answered before…

First, go to a shop and get some boots. They are more important than a board. Shaun White can still pull a 720 on a rental board (I’m sure he can lol) but with bad rental boots, you finish your day with sore feet and probably 1000 other foot odours…

Quick rundown:

Park riding, you should look at something about the 152-155 range. Soft to Mid flex with Rocker and then detune the tip and tail.
Something like the: Chemical Storm Octorocker / Yes Tasmaniac / Forum Scallywag / Lib Tech Skatebanana / Stepchild Jibstick or the Burton Joystick