The BOARDWORLD Forums ran from 2009 to 2021 and are now closed and viewable here as an archive

Snowboarding; POV mounting locations?

This is my favourite angle with PoleCam.
I’m not sure how well GoPro would do it but it’s not impossible because it is an almost square mounting angle holding the pole at about 45? - I don’t even think about the pole when riding like this and as seen in my vid with Tjswish from June 22nd even when falling in deep snow it holds the shot. I have been using PoleCam for a few years now and may just have gotten used to it.

Photobucket

This is probably the angle your going for AJ2theC since it’s an over the shoulder view similar to what you would get from the car.

finney is right about your head absorbing choppiness. Headcams rely on your head to act as a stabiliser. But because of the processing power of your brain people look in many different directions per second. This is the reason POV’s have evolved to have a very wide FOV (field of view) - it reduces the effect of head turning.

Great response guys, got heaps of ideas. Thanks!

Tried to jimmy up a binding mount (as above) but couldn’t make it rigid enough. Tried a 90cm pole: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7bv_3GC—fk , needs to be a tad longer IMO. Knocked up a 150cm pole just then, the extra length makes it a lot heavier.

So what are people’s pole lengths smile?

The pole that I have used once so far is an extendable one that goes from 70-140cm!!!!!

It is a $11 setup made of bits from Bunno’s, made of steel, and if ya see in the pic I hold it up from the handle probably 15cm away from the “extendable joint” that is in the middle of the pole, I found that the weight factor is fine, maybe due to the counter balance effects of the steel/hold placement!!!!

The pic shows it at full extension!!!!!