The BOARDWORLD Forums ran from 2009 to 2021 and are now closed and viewable here as an archive

Buying first board

Hey Guys,
I have been Boarding for a couple of years now, 2 trips to NZ and one to Norway. I am 6ft3 weigh 94kilo and have size 13 feet. I am not into terrain parks or half pipes. I like big carving runs, freeriding and heaps of Pow. I am heading to Japan (Niseko) in December.  I am not sure what size board to buy? i am probably a mid to high intermediate rider. My biggest problem, is that i live on Christmas island (Indian Ocean) so have no access to snowboard shops to talk to guys or try on boots. So was going to try and get feedback on here and try and pick up a board and bindings online, I am not really sure what to go for, so any help here would be really helpful. I will try and figure out what kind of boots to get through here. Then when i get to Japan, i will get the boots so i know they are a good fit.
Cheers guys

sorry to hijack the thread - I’ll leave the recommendations to the experts - but welcome to boardworld! And also, where in Norway did you ride? and how did you end up being on christmas island?

Hey Cords,

Mate i was working over there as a commercial diver and had a few days off. The place is called Kvietfjell. Its on the world circuit for downhill Skiing. Pretty full and icy, but all good. As for Christmas Island i am living over here with my partner, we work at the school. Its an amazing place, great fishing, and diving. But no snowboarding shops to check out some gear.
Hopefully someone helps me out. I am thinking i might have put a few to many questions in there:(

jared74 - 05 September 2011 12:34 PM

Hey Guys,