The BOARDWORLD Forums ran from 2009 to 2021 and are now closed and viewable here as an archive

Help with with first snowboard

A bit of introduction before I start asking for help!

Hi, My name is michael and I have a problem.. I’m addicted to snowboarding.

My specs:

Height: 171cm
Weight: 70kg(currently in lazy mode) but will most likely hit my training weight of 73-75kg once i hit the gym again if that makes any difference to the board length at all.
Boot size: 8 US

I ‘m still a total newbie but have a few days under my belt.
Bought a pair of forum kickers locally earlier in the season and now looking at a snowboard+bindings.
Just bought the freedom pass for perisher 2012 and was about to buy a k2 raygun 153 2011+ burton mission 2011 bindings for roughly $600 online..

After quite a bit of reading on this forum I have decided to put the purchase on hold and shamelessly ask for help here.  oh oh
Would definitely buy local if the price does not explode too much.
I’m not really interested in park riding, mainly just do normal runs.

Is my choice of the k2 raygun 153 and burton mission bindings good? do you guys have any other suggestions?
and point me to a local retailer for said suggestions too please.

P.S. Looking at buying the board+binding urgent too, since we are heading to PB in a couple of weeks to get our 2012 season pass

Thank you,

Mick~

incubus, firstly welcome to BoardWorld! The helpfull comments will most assuredly follow, I unfortunately can only give welcome, you are off to a great start- knowledge is power!  and I would reccomend growing like 20 odd cm cause I think you are too small cheese  . . seriously, the experts are around here somewhere rolleyes  guys? girls?  blank stare