The BOARDWORLD Forums ran from 2009 to 2021 and are now closed and viewable here as an archive

Atomic Boards?

I’m looking at buying my first board and I’ve come across a website where they’re pretty cheap. The board in particular that i’m looking at is the Atomic Enemy board and I’m just wondering if Atomic is a good brand? I haven’t heard of them before and I wanted a more experienced opinion on the brand and maybe even that specific board? (I am new to snowboarding, I’m not brilliant but I can ride pretty well both heel-side and toe-side, and on my last snow trip I had started linking my turns.)

Hi Emma
I must say that I have never seen ANY Atomic snowboards. That doesn’t mean it won’t be good though. Atomic are much better known for making some good skis, I honestly didn’t even know they made snowboards.
I tried to look it up to give you some idea of what you are looking to buy but because it’s last years model the enemy isn’t on their website (cause they aren’t making any boards under the “enemy” name any more.

What I did find out is it is an all mountain board and it’s directional (very). And it is aimed at beginner - intermediate snowboarders like yourself.
They say learning to board on it is a breeze (so I’m guessing they have done something to it to make it easier to learn on, though I’m not sure what)

What all this means is an “All mountain” is like an all rounder kind of board. I will do it all but it will do some things better than others.

Positives: It’s going to be really nice to cruise around the mountain on and also probably nice to learn to carve on. Because the bolts are set back from the center of the board it’s also going to float on powder really easy.

Negatives: It won’t be very nice to ride switch (backwards) or ride in the park (though you can still do plenty of basic stuff in there on it)