The BOARDWORLD Forums ran from 2009 to 2021 and are now closed and viewable here as an archive

First board/binding recommendations

Hi guys,

I just came back from a boarding trip to Niseko, which was my 2nd time boarding (1st was at Thredbo last Aug). I decided I have had enough of dodgy rental boards and want to get my own. Problem is, my head is literally exploding from all of the options and technical aspects of boards!

I can link turns consistently, but more sliding turns than actual edge to edge carving. I’ve had about 7 days boarding experience to this point so I’d say I’m a bit past beginner but not into proper intermediate territory yet.

I am 175cm tall, 70kg, Boot size US10.
I’m interested in more All-Mountain board to do everything. I want the option for park, but I haven’t tried any freestyling yet (I’d like to learn in the future). Since I’m in Sydney, I’m more likely to be going to Perisher/Thredbo or Vic ski fields so something that does very well on packed piste would be ideal.
Price wise, I’m looking for something mid range, or something I can grow into. No point getting a top range one that makes it hard to learn/improve.

What sort of options do I have with board/bindings? A range of brand options would be great. I’m not really brand loyal yet.
Is the Rome Anthem too high range for someone of my standard?

Binding wise, I’ve heard that Flow bindings are good. What are your opinions of Flow/Regular strap bindings?

I appreciate the help!

To keep it simple for you… aim for a directional snowboard with a medium flex (stiffness).  If you can afford a reverse camber or hybrid shape then I would head that way as it will aid your progression.  If you buy this time of year you can pick up a really good board in that category for about $500

As far as flow bindings… personally, I would advise against them.  A regular binding is much more effective.