The BOARDWORLD Forums ran from 2009 to 2021 and are now closed and viewable here as an archive

159, 163, 255, 268 , it’s all Greek to me :)  can you help

Ok so I new here.  Hello everyone..

My specs..

188 (6’2”) cm tall, male, 94 KG (on a bad day smile ), size 12 burton imperial 2013 boots.

I’m a newbie, I’m 39’ and the wife wants to go skiing, my knees don’t handle snow plowing, so boarding for me, and I’ve been two or three times.  I’m pretty crap, but keen to learn so I can get up the slopes with the wife..

I’m looking at used gear, I bought good comfortable boots, and want a used board, not much choice here in Christchurch new Zealand .  I have my eyes on

2008 k2 anagram 263 w
2011 k2 anagram 159 w
2006 ride control 162

So the first board is local and can get it at a decent price, but I’m so confused about sizing.  I’m not going to be in the park, at best I’m enjoying a nice ride down the slopes, nothing crazy, nothing hardcore..

The anagrams seem to be good for a learner/ intermediate…

So can anyone help is the 263 w too big, the 159 w is a lot more and needs to be shipped..  But the 263w has a wait width of 268 vs 261 and the ride control is 255 ( seems narrow ).

Stance I’m still 15/0 and assume will be that way for a season or so. 

Help please, what do you guys think.  Really keen to hear your thoughts on the board

This

Greg

This is the 2011 board

[EDIT: Link removed]

And the 263 w
[EDIT: Link removed]

Also any advice on what to look for in a used board?

If you go on the Burton site they have a ‘board finder’ function that asks you simple questions and explains stuff. That will help you get your head around things. The only problem is it assumes northern hemisphere conditions and will suggest a board that is too long. Longer boards will be better for deep powder and stability at very high speed but will sux for everything else.

I recommend a board length of 158-9.