The BOARDWORLD Forums ran from 2009 to 2021 and are now closed and viewable here as an archive

Rome Tour 13/14 - wide or not?

Hello everyone wink
This is my first post on the boardworld forum. I’m a beginner in snowboarding and I was riding only in a rental equipment. I bought my first boots (Burton ION 13/14 11.5 (EU 45)) and currently I have an opportunity to buy the Rome Tour snowboard in a really reasonable price. There are 2 options: 159 or 161 wide. Which one should I take?
I’m 188 cm tall (6.2ft) and my weight is ~79-80 kg. As I mentioned, my foot size is 11.5.
I realise that Burton’s boots have the Shrinkage Footprint Reduction technology but still, I can’t decide which snowboard size should I take and what would be better for the beginner? I want also to buy bindings and I chose Burton Cartel (size L). I ride all mountain style.
Could you help me in this choice? I’d be very appreciative. Thanks in advance!

Welcome to Boardworld, bigbadmoon. cool smile

You definitely don’t need to be on the 161W. It’s much wider than you need!

However I don’t see an option for the 159 on Rome’s website. Spec chart below.

Also, where will you be riding mainly?

Thanks for a such quick reply smile
I checked this size on the Rome official website: http://www.romesnowboards.com/boards/tour/

I also found specification for the 159 board:

However, on the evo site there is no information about 159 board…
I will be riding on normal ski slopes.

I have another 2 questions wink
1. Is a length of the snowboard adequate to my height?
2. Is a good choice to purchase the Burton Cartel bindings size L?

Weight is more of a factor when lookin at board length!!!!!

But hoof size plays a role in the board that’s eventually chosen!!!!! (As you are already aware of by ya post)