The BOARDWORLD Forums ran from 2009 to 2021 and are now closed and viewable here as an archive

Helmets

So i have been riding with a helmet for over 10 years

I have a Giro 9. Its a good helmet I know that.

But I am not sure what makes it “good”

So if I was on the look out for a new helmet what would I look for? Granted I am not going to be doing back flips off a jump anytime but it is highly likely I could hit a tree (its happened before - blood involved!)

For example I quite like the look of this - but worry it is more of a fashion helmet? (it feels like the price is giving that away LOL)

http://www.roxyaustralia.com.au/ladies-gravity-zone-flex-helmet-qrrhsg01?default=121507

A good helmet is a helmet that fits your head properly!!!!!

ie when it’s on and done up, it should not move around when ya shake ya head with reasonable force!!!!! Most helmets these days come with extra foam inserts that allow greater adjustability too!!!!! (So keep that in mind when tryin them on)

It should also be certified for use in Snowsports!!!!! (As a minimum)

Ohhh, and take ya goggles with ya, in order to make sure that they fit properly!!!!!

* And although not a must, I reckon some form of peak not only looks better than one without, it also keeps out some of the snow from workin it’s way into ya goggles, along with guiding air into the top of them at the same time!!!!!

And 10 Years for a helmet is way too long!!!!!

Plastics change structure in relatively short periods of time, and therefore make a 10 year old helmet half effective of one that is brand new!!!!!

* There should be a manufactured date, time stamp somewhere inside the shell!!!!!

I know all about fit etc, googles and all of that.

But what make a good helmet a good helmet?

How do i know it is certified for board sports.

Why is that Roxy Helmet under $100 (Rhythm are selling it for under $50!)

Its rating must be low surely… but do I really need a $300 RED helmet?